DHS Determines 13 States Meet Real ID Standards

DHS Determines 13 States Meet Real ID Standards

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) has determined that thirteen states have met the standards of the REAL ID Act of 2005 for driver’s licenses and identification cards, and has granted a temporary deferment for all other states and territories.

The states the DHS has certified are Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Iowa, Indiana, Maryland, Ohio, South Dakota, Tennessee, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

The REAL ID Act, passed by Congress in 2005, enacts the 9/11 Commission’s recommendation that the Federal Government “set standards for the issuance of sources of identification, such as driver's licenses.” The Act establishes minimum security standards for license issuance and production and prohibits Federal agencies from accepting for official purposes those documents issued by a state unless DHS determines that the state meets the minimum standards.

The DHS has issued a press release discussing the announcement.

Posted on Friday, December 21, 2012 (Archive on Monday, January 1, 0001)
Posted by NStaff  Contributed by

Facebook HeliAssoc HAI HELI-EXPO LinkedIn Instgram YouTube